Planet Hollywood: Downtown Disney Dining Review -
Award-winning travel guidebooks

   guidebooks   |   news   |   podcasts   |   boards   |   blog   |   worksheets   |   photos   |   articles   |   updates   |   register   |  

Planet Hollywood: Downtown Disney Dining Review

by Carolyn Brooke, PassPorter Guest Contributor
Last modified 05-04-2012 > Articles > Walt Disney World > Dining  

Our last visit to Walt Disney World (from the UK) was in November 2011, and we were on the Disney Dining Plan, which we had been given free of charge as part of our package booking.

We therefore wanted to try as many new Disney restaurants as we possibly could during our two-week vacation, only having ever eaten at quick service places before. We had to sit down 12 months before our holiday with two Walt Disney World guidebooks, a notepad and pen, and a spreadsheet on the laptop in order to plan this carefully!

Although we had visited Planet Hollywood at Downtown Disney before, we had only ever eaten sandwiches and burgers there before now. We had really enjoyed the meals we had there, but were under the impression that the proper dinner menu was much more expensive. However, the fact that Planet Hollywood was now on the Disney Dining Plan meant that we could try different meals there at no risk to our finances!

We therefore had a reservation at Planet Hollywood on Friday, November 11, 2011, not knowing that this was Veteran's Day in the USA. As a consequence, when we got to Downtown Disney it was really crowded, and as we approached Planet Hollywood, we saw something I hadn't seen in years -- a long line to get in! We were amazed at how crowded it was everywhere, but fortunately we had a reservation -- we don’t usually bother with bookings here as Planet Hollywood is never normally very busy! We checked in at the podium downstairs, and then still had quite a long wait before being sent upstairs. However, there were lots of people who were still waiting for a table to open up, long after we had been seated (we were watching them)! We bypassed the massive queue that ran two-thirds of the way down the stairs, thanks to our reservation. We still had to wait a little longer upstairs, but were seated after about 5 minutes. We ordered glasses of pink lemonade and Sprite, and then perused the menu for a while. Eventually, Charlie ordered the half chicken with mashed potatoes and vegetables, and I had the ribeye steak with fries and vegetables. We waited absolutely ages for the food, although to be fair, the restaurant was extremely busy that night. We watched as a couple of ladies at the table next to us had their food delivered, then ate it all, while we were still waiting to be fed!

PH_unusual_angle photo

Planet Hollywood interior unusual angle! - photo by Silvercat

When our dinner finally arrived, we thought that the food was clearly freshly-cooked, being hot and very fresh tasting, and Charlie was adamant that this was the best chicken he had ever had. My steak was fabulous, cooked really well and very tender. The vegetables were gorgeous ! I had some sliced yellow thing that was really tasty, although I've got no idea what it actually was! The fries here are always outstanding, really crisp and delicious.

When it came to ordering dessert, Charlie decided he wanted a particular cheesecake on the menu, (some kind of Jack Daniels dessert), but was told he couldn't have it on the dining plan! How bizarre. We asked why, and were told that it was something to do with the way they order in their supplies, some cheesecakes are ordered in individual portions, and some are whole. Therefore, he could have had one type of cheesecake but not the other! Slightly irritated by this, he finally ordered the key lime pie, while I had the strawberry cheesecake. These desserts were very good, but not particularly outstanding; however, this impression may have had more to do with our being slightly disgruntled about the whole cheesecake incident, rather than the quality of the desserts themselves being under par.

The food was all very good indeed, and we were very glad we had tried a more adventurous meal at this restaurant. We do love the atmosphere in this place, but the service was incredibly slow on this occasion. Two table service credits later plus tip, and we left. Surprisingly, even though it was around 9.00 pm at this point, there were still big groups of people hanging around downstairs, waiting to get in!

PH_Exterior photo

Planet Hollywood exterior at night - photo by Silvercat

You've discovered a PassPorter's Club Concierge Tip!
Ting the bell to read your tip and save it in your Concierge Desk!
About the Author:
Carolyn lives in the UK, first fell in love with Walt Disney World in 1989, and has visited 10 times since then, as well as six visits to Disneyland Paris. Her dream is to live in a fairytale castle with her handsome prince; failing that, regular visits to any Disney park anywhere in the world will do!

Recent Walt Disney World Articles:
Sticking to the 21 Day Fix Diet at Disney - A Walt Disney World Dining Review last updated 11-19-2015
Mickey's Very Merry Christmas Party - A Walt Disney World Event Review last updated 11-12-2015
Finally Enjoying the Finished Fantasyland at the Magic Kingdom - A Walt Disney World Park Review last updated 11-12-2015
Adjusting Your Expectations for Your Walt Disney World Vacation - A Walt Disney World Planning Article last updated 11-05-2015
Disney Vacation Planning for Canadian Guests - Part 2 - A Walt Disney World Planning Article last updated 10-29-2015

More Related Links:
Veggie Dining At Disney - Table Service Locations last updated 12/11/2008
Veggie Dining At Disney - Counter Service Locations last updated 12/04/2008
The Kosher Traveler At Walt Disney World - A Guide last updated 02/05/2009
Dining at Walt Disney World - An Introduction last updated 2/5/2009
Yachtsman Steakhouse From a Vegetarian's Point of View - A Dining Review last updated 5/14/2009

Reader Comments:

So what do you think? Click here to share your comments, feedback, and experiences on this article and topic!

(Note: You must be a member of our PassPorter Message Board Community to leave comments. Join today for free!)

Updated 05-04-2012 - Article #802 

Read additional articles from

Subscribe to our free e-mail newsletter, PassPorter News, published for more than 58,000 opt-in subscribers worldwide. As an added bonus for subscribing, you will receive a 20% discount coupon for the PassPorter Store -- no catch!

E-mail Address:

First Name:

E-mail Format:
-Text/Don't Know  



We respect your privacy and never sell or rent our subscriber list. Subscribing will not result in more spam! We guarantee it.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Copyright 1999-2015
by PassPorter Travel Press, an imprint of MediaMarx, Inc.

Learn More With Our Award-Winning Guidebooks


RSS General