Planet Hollywood: Downtown Disney Dining Review - PassPorter.com
PassPorter.com
Award-winning travel guidebooks

   guidebooks   |   news   |   podcasts   |   boards   |   blog   |   worksheets   |   photos   |   articles   |   updates   |   register   |  


Planet Hollywood: Downtown Disney Dining Review

by Carolyn Brooke, PassPorter Guest Contributor
Last modified 05-04-2012
  



PassPorter.com > Articles > Walt Disney World > Dining  

Our last visit to Walt Disney World (from the UK) was in November 2011, and we were on the Disney Dining Plan, which we had been given free of charge as part of our package booking.


We therefore wanted to try as many new Disney restaurants as we possibly could during our two-week vacation, only having ever eaten at quick service places before. We had to sit down 12 months before our holiday with two Walt Disney World guidebooks, a notepad and pen, and a spreadsheet on the laptop in order to plan this carefully!

Although we had visited Planet Hollywood at Downtown Disney before, we had only ever eaten sandwiches and burgers there before now. We had really enjoyed the meals we had there, but were under the impression that the proper dinner menu was much more expensive. However, the fact that Planet Hollywood was now on the Disney Dining Plan meant that we could try different meals there at no risk to our finances!

We therefore had a reservation at Planet Hollywood on Friday, November 11, 2011, not knowing that this was Veteran's Day in the USA. As a consequence, when we got to Downtown Disney it was really crowded, and as we approached Planet Hollywood, we saw something I hadn't seen in years -- a long line to get in! We were amazed at how crowded it was everywhere, but fortunately we had a reservation -- we don’t usually bother with bookings here as Planet Hollywood is never normally very busy! We checked in at the podium downstairs, and then still had quite a long wait before being sent upstairs. However, there were lots of people who were still waiting for a table to open up, long after we had been seated (we were watching them)! We bypassed the massive queue that ran two-thirds of the way down the stairs, thanks to our reservation. We still had to wait a little longer upstairs, but were seated after about 5 minutes. We ordered glasses of pink lemonade and Sprite, and then perused the menu for a while. Eventually, Charlie ordered the half chicken with mashed potatoes and vegetables, and I had the ribeye steak with fries and vegetables. We waited absolutely ages for the food, although to be fair, the restaurant was extremely busy that night. We watched as a couple of ladies at the table next to us had their food delivered, then ate it all, while we were still waiting to be fed!

PH_unusual_angle photo
PH_unusual_angle

Planet Hollywood interior unusual angle! - photo by Silvercat

When our dinner finally arrived, we thought that the food was clearly freshly-cooked, being hot and very fresh tasting, and Charlie was adamant that this was the best chicken he had ever had. My steak was fabulous, cooked really well and very tender. The vegetables were gorgeous ! I had some sliced yellow thing that was really tasty, although I've got no idea what it actually was! The fries here are always outstanding, really crisp and delicious.

When it came to ordering dessert, Charlie decided he wanted a particular cheesecake on the menu, (some kind of Jack Daniels dessert), but was told he couldn't have it on the dining plan! How bizarre. We asked why, and were told that it was something to do with the way they order in their supplies, some cheesecakes are ordered in individual portions, and some are whole. Therefore, he could have had one type of cheesecake but not the other! Slightly irritated by this, he finally ordered the key lime pie, while I had the strawberry cheesecake. These desserts were very good, but not particularly outstanding; however, this impression may have had more to do with our being slightly disgruntled about the whole cheesecake incident, rather than the quality of the desserts themselves being under par.

The food was all very good indeed, and we were very glad we had tried a more adventurous meal at this restaurant. We do love the atmosphere in this place, but the service was incredibly slow on this occasion. Two table service credits later plus tip, and we left. Surprisingly, even though it was around 9.00 pm at this point, there were still big groups of people hanging around downstairs, waiting to get in!




PH_Exterior photo
PH_Exterior

Planet Hollywood exterior at night - photo by Silvercat





TING!
You've discovered a PassPorter's Club Concierge Tip!
Ting the bell to read your tip and save it in your Concierge Desk!
About the Author:
Carolyn lives in the UK, first fell in love with Walt Disney World in 1989, and has visited 10 times since then, as well as six visits to Disneyland Paris. Her dream is to live in a fairytale castle with her handsome prince; failing that, regular visits to any Disney park anywhere in the world will do!


Recent Walt Disney World Articles:
Surviving 'The Drive' to Walt Disney World - A Walt Disney World Planning Article last updated 07-02-2015
Il Mulino at the Walt Disney World Swan - A Walt Disney World Dining Review last updated 07-02-2015
Helping Friends Plan Their Disney Vacation - A Walt Disney World Planning Article last updated 06-25-2015
The Health Nut's Guide to Saving Money and Your Waistline at Walt Disney World - A Walt Disney World Dining Review last updated 06-16-2015
Shula's Steak House - A Walt Disney World Dining Review last updated 06-16-2015

More Related Links:
Veggie Dining At Disney - Table Service Locations last updated 12/11/2008
Veggie Dining At Disney - Counter Service Locations last updated 12/04/2008
The Kosher Traveler At Walt Disney World - A Guide last updated 02/05/2009
Dining at Walt Disney World - An Introduction last updated 2/5/2009
Yachtsman Steakhouse From a Vegetarian's Point of View - A Dining Review last updated 5/14/2009




Reader Comments:


So what do you think? Click here to share your comments, feedback, and experiences on this article and topic!

(Note: You must be a member of our PassPorter Message Board Community to leave comments. Join today for free!)




Updated 05-04-2012 - Article #802 



Read additional articles from PassPorter.com

Subscribe to our free e-mail newsletter, PassPorter News, published for more than 58,000 opt-in subscribers worldwide. As an added bonus for subscribing, you will receive a 20% discount coupon for the PassPorter Store -- no catch!

E-mail Address:

First Name:

E-mail Format:
-Text/Don't Know  

-HTML

 
 

We respect your privacy and never sell or rent our subscriber list. Subscribing will not result in more spam! We guarantee it.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Copyright 1999-2015
by PassPorter Travel Press, an imprint of MediaMarx, Inc.

       SEARCH
       LEARN MORE
Learn More With Our Award-Winning Guidebooks


 


RSS General PassPorter Community - Boards & Forums on Walt Disney World, Disneyland, Disney Cruise Line, and General Travel - Feasting and Snacking: The Eateries at Walt Disney World
PassPorter Community - Boards & Forums on Walt Disney World, Disneyland, Disn...
Bring your dining questions, tips, and experiences to this table.


La Hacienda review
by Luv2golf
2 Jul 2015 at 9:13pm
My daughter and I love mexican food and we were thinking of trying this on our girls trip :) Does anyone have any recent experiences here?
(click title above to view replies)

Crockett's Tavern -- drinks outside?
by LegoMom
2 Jul 2015 at 3:56pm
Can you get an adult beverage here and enjoy it on the porch, or does it have to stay inside the building? We love the Fort and thought this might...
(click title above to view replies)

Adding a person to dining reservation
by rphstearns
2 Jul 2015 at 12:23pm
Ok my sisters only request on our Disney trip was to be able to eat dinner at Be Our Guest. Well I was able to score a table for 4:45 for two...
(click title above to view replies)

Pay for toddler buffet?
by Geri Alexander
2 Jul 2015 at 12:03pm
In the past, when we have eaten places like The Garden Grill or Park Fare, we have not had to pay for the buffet for my son. He is VERY picky, and...
(click title above to view replies)

I haven't changed dining in a while
by CinderAbby
30 Jun 2015 at 7:48pm
I am very surprised with myself this year. I've made very few changes to our dining this year. I made maybe one or two changes a couple of months ago...
(click title above to view replies)



Total Visits: 5469


PassPorter ~ 1998-2015 ~ 17 Years of Making Dreams Come True!
Publishers of bestselling travel guidebooks and proud recipients of 13 national book awards
About PassPorter
About Us
Site Map
Press
Privacy Policy
Images & Artwork
Guidebooks
About
Previews
Buy
Reviews
Updates
Features
News & Updates
Articles
Podcasts
Photos
Message Boards
Newsletter
Concierge Desk
Desktop
Trips
Books & E-Books
Tips
Settings
Customs Office
Register Books
Book Updates
Contests
Checklists
Help & Info
Finding Answers to Questions
Help Desk
Using Your PassPorter Forum
Store Customer Service
E-Mail Us
Follow Us
PassPorter.com Front Page (Updated Daily!)
PassPorter Newsletter (weekly and free)
Latest Posts
Facebook
Pinterest
YouTube Channel
Questions? Check our Site Map and visit our Help Desk to learn how to contact us online, by e-mail, and by phone.
Please feel free to link to this page so that other vacationers can find it.