Disney's Coronado Springs Resort: A Resort Review - PassPorter.com
PassPorter.com
Award-winning travel guidebooks
Home Florida - Walt Disney World Caribbean - Disney Cruise Line California - Disneyland Resort Anywhere and Everywhere! Travelers Store Message Boards PassPorter's Club Help!
  About Us  |  Customs Office   |   Register Your Book   |   Book Updates   |  Newsletter  |  Articles  |  Photos  |   Follow Us on
       LINKS
       ARTICLES
WDW Planning Articles

WDW Traveling Articles

WDW Lodging Articles
A Night On the Savannah at Animal Kingdom Lodge
All Star Vacation Homes
All-Star Music
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
Choosing a Disney Resort
Choosing A Disney Resort
Disney Vacation Club
Disney Vacation Club
Disney Vacation Club's Old Key West
Disney's All Star Movies Resort
Disney's All Star Movies Resort
Disney's All Star Music Resort
Disney's All Star Sports Resort
Disney's All-Star Movies
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge Villas
Disney's Beach Club Resort
Disney's BoardWalk
Disney's BoardWalk Resort
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Disney's Contemporary Resort
Disney's Contemporary Resort
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
Disney's Deluxe Resorts
Disney's Fort Wilderness Campground
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Disney's Original Value
Disney's Polynesian Resort
Disney's Polynesian Resort
Disney's Polynesian Resort
Disney's Pop Century Resort
Disney's Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney's Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney's Port Orleans Riverside
Disney's Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Disney's Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Disney's Wilderness Lodge Resort
Disney's Wilderness Lodge Resort
Disney's Wilderness Lodge Resort & Villas
Disney's Yacht Club Resort
Fort Wilderness
Fort Wilderness
Fort Wilderness Resort and Campground
Fort Wilderness Resort Cabins
Fort Wilderness Resort Camping
Kidani Village
On Again, Off Again
On-Site Lodging vs. Off-Site Lodging
Pampering Perfected
Renting Disney Vacation Club Points
Reserving a Disney Resort Hotel Room
Roughing It - Confessions of a Deluxe Resort Fan Staying at a Moderate Resort
Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Springs Resort
Shades of Green
Shades of Green
Shades of Green Resort
Shades of Green Resort
Sheraton Vistana Village
Staying in a Cabin at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort and Campground
The Art of A Smooth Check-in At Walt Disney World
The Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
The Villas at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
The Villas at Disney's Grand Floridian
The Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Using RCI Points for Disney Vacation Club Resorts
Why We Stayed Off-Property For our Disney Vacation

WDW Touring Articles

WDW Dining Articles

WDW Making Magic Articles

WDW General Travel Articles

View all PassPorter articles
PassPorter's
Article Tools
Print Article
Download PDF
View Photos
Visit Forum
Read Reviews
Read Comments on This Article

Disney's Coronado Springs Resort: A Resort Review

Walt Disney World photo
by Sue Kulick, PassPorter Featured Columnist
Last modified 4/16/2009
  

Cool Tip: Click here to get a FREE PDF version of this article, fully formatted to print and put into your PassPorter Deluxe Binder!


Filed in Articles > Walt Disney World > Lodging  

This year we were surprised to learn our company's annual business conference would be held at Walt Disney World! I have to admit, I was a little skeptical at first. I mean, Walt Disney World is the center of family fun and entertainment, right? What could they offer business travelers like us?


We were told that our conference would be held at Disney's Coronado Springs Resort. Having never been there, I did a little research. I liked the pictures and its Southwestern theme. I began to warm to the idea

We arrived at Coronado Springs in the mid afternoon, and I was immediately impressed with the color scheme. Warm Southwestern colors greeted us as we entered the beautiful lobby, El Centro. We walked past a gently bubbling fountain, and went quickly through the check-in process. On our way back out, we paused to look up at the breathtaking domed ceiling. Incredible!

Coronado Springs boasts three differently-styled guest building "districts." Our room was in the section called the Cabanas. We were in building 8B, which was pretty close to a pool and a laundry facility (Yes, I do laundry on vacation!). It was also not too far from a bus stop, and a short walk to El Centro. My fellow conventioneers were in the other sections. The Ranchos were close to the Main Pool, known as the Dig Site, and the Casitas were close to the conference center. We did a few unofficial room tours, and I would be hard pressed to pick my favorite!

Our Coronado Springs room was ready, so bell services loaded us and our luggage on a golf cart and off we went! Our room was on the second floor, and we overlooked part of the lake that lies at the middle of the resort. The room was wonderful. I understand that this resort is in the process of being refurbished. I am not sure if we had one of the refurbished rooms, but it was clean, comfy and beautiful!



Carousel time! photo
Carousel time!

Some of our favorite photos from our first trip to the Magic Kingdom as a party of three! - photo by wendybird3508

The theme of the rooms is like the rest of the resort; Southwestern with a Mexican flair. The room had two double beds, a dark wood armoire, a table and chairs, and a ceiling fan. And, remember how I like to do laundry? We had an iron and ironing board! Pretty cool stuff for a clothes horse like me! Of course, my husband was MUCH more impressed with the small refrigerator and the coffee maker. The bathroom had one sink, and was adequately sized for the two of us. I was thinking it might be a bit small for a family of 4, but of course, people make things work all the time, don't they?

We unpacked, and decided to wander around the resort. Our conference didn't start till the morning, leaving us time to explore. We decided to walk the resort, although there is an internal shuttle bus available. We wanted to enjoy both the warm Florida weather and our first day away!

We took the path that lead from our room around the lake, which I learned was called Lago Dorado. According to my guide book, this distance is 1.1 miles -- good enough for a casual walker like me to feel good but not exhausted! And the view! We walked in the late afternoon as the sun was starting to go lower in the sky. The shadows and lights reflected on the water were just incredible. I was kicking myself for leaving my camera in the room! The resort's pathways are lined with rocks, cactus and other vegetation. I almost expected to see the explorer Coronado himself tying his horse up!

We walked past the main pool, called "The Dig Site." The highlight of this HUGE (10,800 square feet) pool is the Mayan pyramid that flows like a waterfall into the pool. At first, my husband thought it was a water slide, but the branches that decorate the pyramid would make it a little difficult to slide down! There is, however, a 123-foot water slide known as the Jaguar, right next to the pyramid, which was on our list to try while we were here! There was also a HUGE hot tub! Somehow, I believed that we would be in here later in the week, possibly with a margarita close by!

We were getting a bit hungry, so we decided to try the Coronado Springs restaurant, Maya Grill. Once again, we were impressed with both the theme and the service. The servers were dressed in Mexican-style costume, and were very friendly and attentive. I opted for the Chilean Salmon Filet, and my husband, ever the steak guy, had the Shoulder Beef Tender. We split the Pulled Pork Empanada for an appetizer. I would have liked to have tried the Seafood Margarita, but he is allergic to seafood, so this was a compromise. The food was wonderful, and just the right amount. We found out that they also serve a breakfast buffet. Our server told us the choices, which included all the traditional fare, spiced up with breakfast burritos and Mexican scrambled eggs. Sounded like another thing on the "must do" list!

After dinner, we stopped for a nightcap at the newly opened "Rix" lounge. While Rix continued the theme of the resort, it was definitely a little more upbeat and funky! The colors were more vibrant and rich then the pastels we had seen throughout the resort. Muted browns and tans were splashed with bright orange, fuchsia and turquoise. There was seating at the bar, and little sections where you could chat with just a few people. We found a few of our fellow conventioneers here, and discussed the upcoming agenda over a signature chocolate martini!

Several of the others had eaten dinner in the Pepper Market, which we had passed but not stopped into. The Pepper Market is a food court of sorts, set up like an open-air Mexican market. You have your choice of stations, everything from tacos to burgers, pizza to stir fry, sandwiches to steaks, and pretty much everything in between. They are also open for breakfast, and glory be, they have a gourmet coffee and cappuccino station! I am so there!

We decided to call it a night, since tomorrow would be an early day. We stopped into Panchito's, the not-so-little gift shop in El Centro, and picked up a few snacks plus a tube of toothpaste; since I left ours on the bathroom sink at home. There was a lovely selection of merchandise, and I knew we would be back to pick up a few souvenirs for the folks back home.

We came here not knowing what to expect, but we were so surprised to find this business and pleasure gem of a resort right in the middle of our favorite place in the world.





Tip: Bring Plasticware!
A lot of people book hotel rooms that have refrigerators. This way they can take advantage of leftovers and have snacks in their rooms. One thing I've learned is to drop some plastic cutlery packs into my luggage. Whenever I get take-out at home, I use real silverware and collect the plastic packs. Then, when I'm on vacation I can eat my leftovers easily and have salt/pepper from the packs. Make sure to pack it in your luggage and not your carry-on if you are flying! - tip contributed by Brandi

Save This Tip



A new princess for "The Kingdom" photo
A new princess for "The Kingdom"

Some of our favorite photos from our first trip to the Magic Kingdom as a party of three! - photo by wendybird3508




About the Author:
Sue Kulick is a resident of the Pocono Mountains and an avid Disney fan. She and her husband, Steve, live in a log home with their Golden Retrievers, Cody and Belle and their cat Tigger.

Related Links:
The Art of A Smooth Check-in At Walt Disney World - Save Time and Trouble On Your Next Trip last updated 12/04/2008
Disney's All Star Movies Resort - Big "Blockbuster" Fun On a Small "Indie" Budget last updated 01/20/2009
Disney's All Star Music Resort - Quality Lodging For a Song last updated 1/13/2009
Disney's All Star Sports Resort - The Original Value last updated 1/13/2009
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge - The "Perfect" Resort for Teenagers last updated 1/13/2009




Reader Comments:


We loved our time at Coronado Springs (CSR). It is a beautiful resort. The only negative we have about the resort is we didn't like the Pepper Mill restuarant.

     MichaelF on September 4, 2010 @ 6:55 pm
We stayed at Coronado Springs (as you can see in my sig) quite a few times.

On the plus side:
- the resort is beautiful
- the main pool and the slide are fabulous
- the hot tub is great
- gift shop is nice
- nice "quiet pools"
- we found it to be quite quiet and we like the 2 story buildings

On the negative side:
- don't care for the Pepper Market or any other restaurant in this resort (food not good and do not care for the stamping system)
- the resort is quite large but if you request Cabanas you won't be far from the main hub or a bus stop

We would not hesitate to stay here again. We got around the Pepper market in the mornings by bringing individual cereal boxes and supplementing that with milk, juice, fruit or something sweet from the store.

     debrabrown on September 4, 2010 @ 7:00 pm
Just got back from a ten nighter at Coronado Springs Resort, my second stay there since 2006.

The Good:
1.The rooms have been relatively recently refurbished. Standard rooms have queen size beds and flat screen tv. I liked the new decor, but I am not really picky about such things.
2. Driving my own car, parking lots for all major parks are about five minutes away. I never experienced any delay due to traffic, even at park closing.
3.The Dig Site pool is large, features a great water slide and playground.
4. I think Coronado offers a great value for the money and is (in my opinion) nicer than POFQ, where I stayed in 08.

The Less Good:
1. Pepper Market wasn't as good as I remeber from my 06 trip. Had breakfast there twice and food was so-so. Also had some nachos, which were pretty good. I don't mind the ticket stamp system, but many people don't care for it. Rix cafe "grab and go" was edible, had one of the personal pizzas and a couple of sandwiches, but nothing to rave about.
2. Bus service to and from parks seemed a bit slow. I waited nearly twenty minutes for a bus from Epcot. Bus was SRO and took about twenty more minutes to load, travel and unload. Compared to driving, the bus felt like an eternity.
3. This resort is very large and getting to the main building can be a bit of a hike depending on the location of one's room. I stayed in Cabanas 8B and did not find the walk to El Centro or the main pool, to be objectionable.
4. Walkways can be very slippery when wet. During my stay it rained nearly everyday and at times the walkways around my building had ankle deep puddles.
5. Refrigerator isn't very big and doesn't seem to get very cold. I used a cooler to chill water for the parks and beers for after the parks.

The Ugly: The toilets appear to be of the minimal water use type. They are quite noisy, but don't do a great job of taking away the waste material. About 7 AM, one is treated to the chorus of flushing toilets through the building.

Hope that helps.

     DizneyCommando on September 4, 2010 @ 7:02 pm
Agree that the queen beds are nice as is the new door between the bedroom and the bathroom. I also like the counter space in the bathroom.

     debrabrown on September 4, 2010 @ 7:03 pm
I did not share the love... I've heard people say this is a place you either love or hate - I hate. Here is a link to the review I just wrote... hopefully this works!

http://www.passporterboards.com/forums/disney-world-resort-hotel-reviews-ratings/147287-disneys-coronado-springs-resort-disney-moderate-resort-reviews-ratings-3.html#post3416430

     dizneymommy on September 4, 2010 @ 7:05 pm
MichaelF;3418379 >We loved our time at CSR. It is a beautiful resort. The only negative we have about the resort is we didn't like the Pepper Mill restuarant.


Sorry I meant the Pepper Market. I don't hear of too many people who like the resturants at CSR. The TS place (can't remember the name) is better than Pepper Market but still is not great.

     MichaelF on September 4, 2010 @ 7:23 pm
My dd & I stayed there and loved it. We are getting ready to head back for our second stay next summer. The pool is great, the resort is beautiful, loved the food at the pool bar. Has a marina and bike rental. It has a very deluxe feel for a moderate resort. I have no negatives.

     krisk11 on September 4, 2010 @ 8:19 pm
We stayed end of april. iI liked it DH didn't. We were upgraded to a king on top floor,the view was beautiful. I liked the doors to the bathroom area,also flat screen tv. We are seniors so we spend time in our room .We are not in a hurry so we take our time andwhen we left for the busesthey were empty,

     linda a. rob on September 4, 2010 @ 8:25 pm
krisk11;3418413 >My dd & I stayed there and loved it. We are getting ready to head back for our second stay next summer. The pool is great, the resort is beautiful, loved the food at the pool bar. Has a marina and bike rental. It has a very deluxe feel for a moderate resort. I have no negatives.

That's another thing we were so bummed about... the marina and bike rental were closed - in August. What the heck? It's still summer!

     dizneymommy on September 4, 2010 @ 9:14 pm
We liked Coronado Springs resort, it was gorgeous and the room was fantastic- Cabanas section. We liked the Pepper Market. It was different.

What we didn't like was the size. The place was just too big for our liking. We had refillable mugs and hardly used them because it was just too far to walk to El Centro to get the refills after a long day of walking in the parks. We thought we'd be able to fill them at the bar at the pool- the reason we requested the Cabana building near The Dig Site. But it closed at 7. I couldn't understand why a pool bar would close so early. We went to the hot tub every night and never made it there before 8:30-9.

     SARH7 on September 4, 2010 @ 9:45 pm
I'd recommend Coronado Springs Resort! Besides having a great main pool area, Coronado Springs Resort (CSR) also offers many deluxe amenities at a mod price.

CSR has queen beds while the other mods have doubles like the value resorts. The rooms have been recently renovated and are gorgeous.

CSR has a fitness center, spa, tanning beds, a sauna, salon, full menu room service and a night club.

CSR has a sliding wooden door separating the sink area from the room instead of a privacy curtain like the other mods.

CSR has the same toiletries as the deluxes (except Grand Floridian). CSR has separate shampoo and conditioner instead of the shampoo/conditioner combo at the other mods and values (a small thing, I know, but it means I don't have to pack shampoo and conditioner).

CSR has the largest hot tub of the mods and one of the longest pool slides on Disney property. The pool, slide and playground area is great.

CSR has terrific transportation that is not shared with any other resort. The longest ride is to Magic Kingdom at 10 mins.

Have a great trip!


http://www.passporter.com/images/featured.png

     buzz2001 on September 4, 2010 @ 9:55 pm
See, now i'd read that about not sharing buses... but they do. Last week when we were there and stayed at csr on more than one occasion our bus also picked up guests leaving the park we were at, going to animal kingdom lodge and the pop's. It was never at open or close, always mid-day to late evening.



Our buses also stopped at blizzard beach an awful lot, even late in the evening or when it was raining. Half the time there was no one getting on or off there either.

     dizneymommy on September 4, 2010 @ 10:03 pm
We loved CSR! We were there June 09. Our buses never shared with other resorts. We did occasionally go to Blizzard Beach. We though Pepper Market was ok, not good but not bad. The rooms and the beatiful resort made it spectacular. Loved the renovated rooms, the dark wood and queen beds did feel deluxe. Loved the doors that close off the bathroom/vanity area, one person could be getting ready while others still slept. We loved the fountains in the Casitas area. It was a slightly long walk to El Centro from Casitas 5 but the plants etc are so beautiful, enjoy the walk! After returning from the parks you can stay on the bus, get off at El Centro to refill your mug, then walk back to your room. Worked pretty well for my DH. Right now I have no desire to try any other moderate! smiley for :D

     mmsportsmom on September 4, 2010 @ 11:06 pm
We really liked it too! It is a beautiful resort and very quiet (at least when we were there). We stayed in the Casitas. Our room faced the lake and we were able to see fireworks on those nights we came back to the room early. It is a large resort though. We liked it just as much, if not better, than Caribbean Beach Resort (well, except the beds were squeaky...looks like w/ the refurb that is not a problem now). Although we liked that the bus stop for CSR was always the first one at the parks, it was hard after a long day to walk the LONG trek back to the room from the bus stop once you got to the resort. We never shared a bus w/ any resort either, nor did we ever stop at the waterparks on the way. We went directly to the park. We also liked the CS meal that we had for breakfast at the resort. Nothing fancy, but good and filling.

     saibot0001 on September 5, 2010 @ 7:36 am
We will be staying at CSR in 3 weeks for the first time. I am very excited and glad I found this post!

     Cheyenne on September 10, 2010 @ 10:37 am
We are staying at the CSR in January. We have stayed at the Poly and WL at WDW. I didn't like the POLY so my expectations aren't tremendous. I did talk to someone I work with who said this is like a Deluxe at a Moderate price. Hope he is right!!! All we ask for is clean with good service......something we didn't get at the POlY!!!

     Lori Jakiela on September 10, 2010 @ 2:33 pm
Oh, I forgot room service. that was really great . we called and breakfast was there in no time at all.:pixie::pixie:

     linda a. rob on September 10, 2010 @ 3:18 pm
DH and I stayed there in Sept. of '09 and really enjoyed it. We were in the Casitas section. I've got no complaints at all. It's a beautiful resort. DH is a picky eater and even he liked the Pepper Market. There are lots of choices and we didn't mind the card stamping at all. You walk in, get seated, they take your drink order, and then you're free to browse the different stations. They were always attentive to us and I found it alot nicer than other counter service places on property. Maya Grill and the quick service options are nice as well. I say at least give it a try, I think you'll like it.

     luvnwdwgal on September 10, 2010 @ 6:16 pm
dizneymommy;3418458 >That's another thing we were so bummed about... the marina and bike rental were closed - in August. What the heck? It's still summer!
Hope that's not the case next summer as we will be there in Aug 2011. I swear it was open the entire time we were there last trip but it was June.

     krisk11 on September 11, 2010 @ 2:33 pm
I've done two stays, one in April, one in January. Loved it both times, once in casitas and once in ranchos.

We had always stayed in deluxes and this was our first moderate stay. It made me question why I ever stayed in deluxe. It is a beautiful resort and I think we've had the best customer service here.

I may be the exception, but I really like the Pepper Market. I've never been disappointed in a meal here and I think they have more variety than most food courts.

     Huntermom on September 11, 2010 @ 7:12 pm
dizneymommy;3418458 >That's another thing we were so bummed about... the marina and bike rental were closed - in August. What the heck? It's still summer!
Since the down turn of the economy, the marina doesn't make enough money to justify that it remain open. Plus, the lake isn't as big as some of the others. You,re better off renting from the poly or cont so that you get your monies worth.

It may open again for the holiday (Xmas) season this year but that will be it for 2010.

     buzz2001 on September 11, 2010 @ 8:23 pm
We stayed at CSR in April '10 and it was quite nice. My girlfriend and her two daughters and I were there for spring break. The scenery was really beautiful. My gf loved Pepper Market and we dined there twice. I thought it was just ok. We also went to Maya Grill and I had the Kobe burger which was over done. The rooms were ok - we were only there to sleep. The pool was great and the hot tub was nice. We were on the ground floor in the Casitas near a bus stop so the walk wasn't terrible. The only problem is that this is a convention center. During our stay there was a convention of nursing students. They could be quite annoying at times (and loud). Also - the mousekeepers were either there too early (waking us up) or not at all. But all in all, it was worth the cost.

     Coop on October 29, 2010 @ 9:50 pm
cburke;3418331 >I want to hear the good and the bad about it please.

I honestly have absolutely nothing bad to say. I love the CSR. It is my fave mod and I would definitely stay there again in a heartbeat.

Loves:
Grounds: They're gorgeous - the beautiful lake, incredible reflections at night, color scheme
Beds: Queen size,
Pepper Market: Table service for a Quick Counter Service credit
Buses: Multiple stops - always one close by and the park stops are always close to the front of the park - I love that!
Pool: The Dig - Mayan Pyramid - so fun!
Convention center: - means less kids/teens, less noise, less crowds, etc
More Amenities than other mods: Fitness center, hair salon

What's not to love?

     ANGSWIN on October 30, 2010 @ 6:53 pm
We stayed in Sept 09. Since Hubby and I are Pooh sized, it was nice to have the queen sized beds. There is only one sink in the bathroom,but I feel the ink area is only big enough for one of us at a time, and having the single sink gives you more counter space. I love the door between the sink area and the room.



Love, Love, Love the grounds. Made for a relaxing walk. Pool is huge! Play area is huge! Like the quiet pools, barely anyone there...perfect for us, having 3 kiddos that couldn't swim!



My only complaint about this resort is the time went too fast! Before we knew it .... it was time to go home!



We have never repeated resorts...until this year. There was never any second choice. Every one wanted to go back!



Yea...I kinda love that place!



Nini

     QuiltsbyNini on October 31, 2010 @ 8:26 am
We were there in Feb 09 and I cannot say enough about this resort. I can't wait to stay there again. The only thing I disliked was the food court. I think it's overpriced, and I didn't love the system. It did have more extensive offerings though.



The grounds were incredible, and I know people have complained that it's too big, but I honestly never felt that anywhere was too far to walk. We stayed in the Cabanas section and everything was close by. It was too cold to use the pool but we looked at it and it's gorgeous.



The rooms, incredible. Just incredible. And room service - hello! We ordered room service when we stayed, and it was fantastic. We were in a refurbished room (which is now the norm) and oh man it was lovely! I can't say enough.

     Principessa_di_Fata on November 5, 2010 @ 1:18 pm
Another vote for loving CSR! smiley for :D DM and I stayed at CSR for the first time in June, and we loved it there! We arrived via DME around 1230pm or so and were able to check into our room right away. So we brought our carry on bags up to our room (in the Casitas), and headed back to the Pepper Market for lunch. We each got the chicken quesadillas, and thought they were very good. We of course had to get our resort mugs as well while we were there. smiley for ;) By the time we were done with lunch, bell services had brought our suitcases up to the room. Again really great service!

I travel to Arizona frequently, so I loved the theming at CSR. The rooms were nicely done and very clean. I appreciated the door between the bathroom area and the bedroom as DM is an early riser. She was able to get up early and get ready without disturbing me at all.

Because it is a convention center and one of the larger resorts, I think that people get turned off by it. I also think that some people have such high demands and expectations about what should happen that they will find the bad in anything. When I go to Disney I am in vacation mode, so if I have to wait it really doesn't bother me. I would much rather have to wait in line at Disney than be sitting at my desk at work. I feel that Disney does go to the nth degree when it comes to customer service. If something isn't right, they try really hard to rectify it. So having said that, I would probably have a great time at anyplace at WDW. However, we had nothing but a great experience while we were at CSR, and we would definitely go back again. smiley for :)

     stretch2864 on November 6, 2010 @ 8:53 pm
we stayed at csr two years ago and loved it. we are planning to stay there again on this trip. last year we stayed at CBR which I thought was beautiful and the kids loved it but hubby and I missed Coronado we thought the pepper market was great with a lot of options to choose from. Our room I think was the cabana section right next to the main pool and the bus stop It was a great location for us with the kids. I hope you love it as much as we do.

     mylittleminnie on November 8, 2010 @ 7:53 am
Thanks everyone for sharing your reviews of CSR! We'll be staying there (for the first time) during Christmas. Still have a little over a month before we leave! smiley for :)

     2MuchWDWfun on November 8, 2010 @ 5:16 pm
The decorations are just beautiful. Enjoy!

     debrabrown on November 9, 2010 @ 9:40 pm
I absolutely love CSR. It is so peaceful and the grounds are beautiful! I could spend a whole day hanging out in one of the hammocks on their beach.

     Aminspired on November 27, 2010 @ 6:43 pm
We're at CSR now. I was afraid it might be a let down after our Sept stay at BLT, but it's not! I don't feel quite as claustrophobic. The front desk people were super nice. Did not have to change rooms with having 2 reservations. Love not sharing the bus. We were the only ones on the bus to MK. It was great!

     Mommy2alittleprincess on November 28, 2010 @ 12:33 am
Mommy2alittleprincess;3499363 >We're at CSR now. I was afraid it might be a let down after our Sept stay at BLT, but it's not! I don't feel quite as claustrophobic. The front desk people were super nice. Did not have to change rooms with having 2 reservations. Love not sharing the bus. We were the only ones on the bus to MK. It was great! Sounds great! Have a terrific trip!!

     buzz2001 on November 28, 2010 @ 6:46 am
It's one of my favorite resorts - we've stayed there a couple of times. There are multiple bus stops, so you need to make sure you're using the one closest to you.

     tio marco on November 28, 2010 @ 8:59 am
dizneymommy;3418458 >That's another thing we were so bummed about... the marina and bike rental were closed - in August. What the heck? It's still summer!

I hear that! We are going there with some friends in September of Next year, and my MIL, FIL, SIL and her bf are going next week, so at least I'll hear a lot about it so we can change resorts if there are really bad reports...
Even in December it's warm enough to go out on the water so I would love to be able to take out a boat or other watercraft in mid September!

     Alexandrea on November 29, 2010 @ 2:42 am
We loved it back in 2006! We loved everything about it! It was beautiful, the meals we ate at the Pepper Market were great! The one and only negative was the lady working at the pizza place. She was most unpleasant! But, that can happen anywhere since everyone has a bad day every now and then! The biggest plus, for us, was the customer service at check in. I had requested a certain area (and I know these are only requests and don't guarantee anything), but would have been happy anywhere but Ranchos (kinda neat area, just not my personal taste). I was told that a big convention had booked a few months back and had filled up the area I requested. Since I book a year in advance (and had put in my request then, plus reminders closer to arrival), I was VERY annoyed that a convenion could knock me into Ranchos! Anyway, I must have looked quite pitiful (bad flights, exhaustion, I almost cried! LOL!), b/c the guy searched and searched and found someone checking out that same day in a PREFERRED room! He got it for us with no upgrade charge! I nearly jumped the counter and hugged him! And the rest of our stay was awesome! We would DEFINITELY stay there again! It's definitely a step up as far as ammenities from the other mods. I've heard some folks having issues with the convention folks, but really, our experience was very positive with them! There were several who went out of their way to chat with my boys and even got them a little toy each from the shop! They were all very nice and respectful. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!

     jodileigh on November 29, 2010 @ 12:34 pm
I'm so glad to hear so many good things about CSR -- I just booked our Dec. 2011 trip at CSR, in part because of Buzz2001's recommendations.

His CSR website has so many beautiful photos...I think I figured a "convention hotel" with a southwestern theme must look something like a pyramid in the middle of a parking lot!!

     lindadarrall on November 30, 2010 @ 10:44 pm
We stayed at CSR in December 2008, and loved everything about the resort. So much so, we are staying there again at the end of March. It is a peaceful place to come back to after the parks. I recommend it to anyone who asks...and some who don't! Buzz's page has great info, and was what made us choose CSR in 2008.

     bucci818 on December 1, 2010 @ 7:57 pm
This my FAV resort. It is so pretty and relaxing and the beds are Queens instead of fulls, and the decor is wonderful, i mean you could have a vacation just staying at this resort and not visiting the parks (lol as if i would ever not visit the parks) but im sure you know what i mean.

     thinktink79 on December 2, 2010 @ 1:32 pm
I am looking forward to going and seeing what it is all about in August.

     youngb on December 2, 2010 @ 5:51 pm
I know this is an old question but I assume people are still reading to help them decide on CSR. I have to throw my opinion in the mix because I love CSR. We are staying there again on this upcoming trip. I like it best of the moderates (so far) because of some of the things others list as negatives. 1. It is a convention center - I found that this means that the buses are not at all crowded. 2. It is very large - I thought this made it much quieter. 3. The Pepper Market - I found it easier to get a variety of food & thought the quality was fine. But mostly I love it because it is soooo relaxing, which not all of Disney is, so I felt like we really got refreshed when we returned here in the evenings. I recommend it for adults travelling alone or with older children in particular, but I saw small children enjoying the pool/recreation area too. So there is one more opinion in the hopper!

     MaggieMayMouse on December 4, 2010 @ 4:13 pm
Speaking of this resort, just checked w/ our travel agents for 2 weeks in July and Coronado Springs is booked for the 2 weeks we were looking at?? Even on disney's website??? Seriously? What is going on that I can't get into this resort those 2 weeks?

     LESLIEW on December 4, 2010 @ 6:53 pm
There is probably a big convention those weeks, I think when a company books one they hold big blocks of rooms for them then after a certain date they release any that weren't booked. At least that is how other convention centers do it.

     MaggieMayMouse on December 7, 2010 @ 3:42 pm
We stayed at CSR recently and loved it. It feels more like a Deluxe than a Moderate. The rooms have just been refurbished, and are very nice. Loved the sliding doors. And the toiletries. And the robes. The queen beds are great and we loved the Pepper Market. The only downsize is it's a very large resort, so depending on where you're staying, it can be a hike to El Centro. We've been POFW-philes forever, but this is now our favorite Moderate

     jimmymac on December 7, 2010 @ 3:54 pm
View all 43 comments in forum thread

So what do you think? Click here to share your comments, feedback, and experiences on this article and topic!

(Note: You must be a member of our PassPorter Message Board Community to leave comments. Join today for free!)




Updated 4/16/2009 - Article #76 



Read additional articles from PassPorter.com

Subscribe to our free e-mail newsletter, PassPorter News, published for more than 58,000 opt-in subscribers worldwide. As an added bonus for subscribing, you will receive a 20% discount coupon for the PassPorter Store -- no catch!

E-mail Address:

First Name:

E-mail Format:
-Text/Don't Know  

-HTML

 
 

We respect your privacy and never sell or rent our subscriber list. Subscribing will not result in more spam! We guarantee it.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Copyright 1999-2014
by PassPorter Travel Press, an imprint of MediaMarx, Inc.

       SEARCH
       LEARN MORE
Learn More With Our Award-Winning Guidebooks


 

RSS Test PassPorter Community - Boards & Forums on Walt Disney World, Disneyland, Disney Cruise Line, and General Travel - Staying in Style: The Resorts/Hotels at Walt Disney World
PassPorter Community - Boards & Forums on Walt Disney World, Disneyland, Disn...
Whether you're staying at a Disney resort, or "off-property," this is the place for questions, picks and pans, and experiences. Forum Sponsored by ALL STAR Vacation Homes




Total Visits: 5274


PassPorter ~ 1998-2014 ~ 16 Years of Making Dreams Come True!
Publishers of bestselling travel guidebooks and proud recipients of 13 national book awards
About PassPorter
About Us
Site Map
Press
Privacy Policy
Images & Artwork
Guidebooks
About
Previews
Buy
Reviews
Updates
Features
News & Updates
Articles
Podcasts
Photos
Message Boards
Newsletter
Concierge Desk
Desktop
Trips
Books & E-Books
Tips
Settings
Customs Office
Register Books
Book Updates
Contests
Checklists
Help & Info
Finding Answers to Questions
Help Desk
Using Your PassPorter Forum
Store Customer Service
E-Mail Us
Follow Us
PassPorter.com Front Page (Updated Daily!)
PassPorter Newsletter (weekly and free)
Latest Posts
Facebook
Pinterest
YouTube Channel
Questions? Check our Site Map and visit our Help Desk to learn how to contact us online, by e-mail, and by phone.
Please feel free to link to this page so that other vacationers can find it.